Government Appoints 6 New Members to the IIAC

On 14 December 2018, it was announced that Sarah Newton, Minister for Disabled People, Health and Work, had appointed 6 new members to the Industrial Injuries Advice Council (IIAC), on behalf of the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions.[i]

The IIAC is an independent scientific body, sponsored by the Department for Work and Pensions, which publishes reports, such as:

  • Recommendations to update the list of prescribed diseases/jobs types which engage Industrial Injuries Disablement Benefit (IIDB) payments;
  • Draft proposals on legislative changes to the IIDB scheme to be presented in Parliament; and
  • Scrutiny of draft regulations on the administration of the IIDB scheme.

Across several editions of BC Disease News, in 2018, we reported on the latest IIAC research to be published:

  • Position Paper 42 on occupational exposure to crystalline silica and its relation to connective tissue diseases (here).
  • Position Paper 41 on coal mining, silicosis and lung cancer (here).
  • Report on multiple cause IIDB claims (here).
  • Information Note on occupational urolithiasis (here).
  • Information Note on non-melanoma skin cancer and occupational exposure to natural UV radiation (here).

In addition to the Council Chair, the IIAC is appointed:

  • Independent members with specialist skills;
  • Employee representatives; and
  • Employer representatives.

As of 1 November 2018, the following individuals have been appointed as independent members, each serving 5-year terms:

Professor Kim Burton

  • Musculoskeletal Occupational Health specialist.
  • Associate Professor of Clinical Biomechanics at the British School of Osteopathy, London.
  • Expert Adviser to the Government’s Joint Work and Health Unit since 2015.

Professor John Cherrie

  • Occupational Hygiene and Epidemiology specialist.
  • Professor of Human Health at Heriot Watt University.
  • Principal Scientist at the Institute for Occupational Medicine.
  • Former Research Director at the Institute for Occupational Medicine.
  • Author of Epidemiological studies which investigated hazards and risks from exposure to chemicals and dusts, particularly in relation to Occupational Cancer.
  • Member of the Health and Safety’s Workplace Health Expert Committee.
  • Former Member of the Advisory Committee on Pesticides.
  • Former Member of the Expert Panel on Air Quality Standards.
  • Former Adviser to the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health ‘No Time To Lose’ Campaign on Occupational Cancer.

Dr Valentina Gallo

  • Neurodegenerative Disease and Mental Health Disorder specialist.
  • Senior Lecturer in Epidemiology at the Centre for Primary Care and Public Health at Bart’s and the London School of Medicine, University of London.
  • Honorary Associate Professor at London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.
  • Honorary Lecturer in Epidemiology at Imperial College London School of Public Health.

Dr Max Henderson

  • Psychological Medicine specialist.
  • Consultant Liaison Psychiatrist at St James University Hospital, Leeds.
  • Co-founder and Academic Secretary of the Occupational Psychiatry Special Interest Group in the Royal College of Psychiatrists.
  • Former Appointee to the Parliamentary Liaison Committee of the Royal College of Psychiatrists.
  • Former Member of the 2017 Review into Mental Health and Employment by Lord Dennis Stevenson and Paul Farmer.
  • Former Member of the Department for Work and Pensions and Department of Health Occupational Health Expert Group.

Dr Samuel (Chris) Stenton

  • Locum Consultant Physician at the Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle upon Tyne.
  • Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne.
  • Former Lecturer in Medicine at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne.
  • Former Senior Registrar (General and Occupational Medicine) at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne.
  • Former Lecturer in Medicine and Honorary Clinical Registrar at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne.

What is more, a new employee representative has been appointed for a 3-year term:

Dr Ian Lawson

  • Hand Arm Vibration Syndrome specialist.
  • Retired Occupational Health Physician.
  • Former Chief Medical Officer and Rolls-Royce.
  • Former Honorary Lecturer at the Royal Society of Public Health.
  • Former President of the Society of Occupational Medicine.

IIAC Chair, Dr Lesley Rushton, has stated that the new additions will ‘bring extensive expertise and experience in several important areas which will be of great value to the future work of the Council. Emboldened text in the experts’ bullet pointed credentials (above) may provide an insight into the Council’s future objectives.


[i] ‘Appointments to the Industrial Injuries Advisory Council’ (14 December 2018 GOV.UK) <> accessed 1 November 2019.